Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the best sandwich I have ever eaten.

IMG_2272I know it doesn’t look like much in this photo – BECAUSE I SUCK AT TAKING PHOTOS – but it was soooooooooooo good. And it was all because of the tempeh bacon.

Can I just say that I LOVE tempeh? LOVE IT. If you’ve tried tofu and you think it’s too soggy, and you’re not into the texture, or you’re worried about how processed it is, I urge you to try tempeh.

Tempeh is less processed than tofu, and it also has more protein and fiber than it’s wet cousin. In the package, it is dry, firm, and sort of brownish in colour. It has an earthy, lightly nutty flavour and no gross smell. The brand of tempeh I buy comes in many different flavours, and it is GMO free and organic – so really, you can’t go wrong.

You can cook it the same way that you cook tofu, OR you can make the best tempeh bacon in the entire world.

I vote for the second option.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp pure maple syrup (or black strap molasses, or agave, OR stevia to make this completely sugar free)
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (I used Braggs)
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp ground cumin
2 tsp liquid smoke (I used Woodland Natural Hickory)
pepper (dash)
1 package tempeh (I used red pepper tempeh)

Instructions:

Slice the whole package of tempeh into thin slices. I prefer mine to be long, but you can cut it into whatever size you want. If you don’t want to make the whole package of tempeh into ‘facon’, simply do half – making sure to halve the recipe above as well.

Mix all marinade ingredients together in a shallow dish that is big enough to fit all of your sliced tempeh. I like to use a container that has a lid, so that every few hours I can go into the fridge while the tempeh slices are marinating and give them a good shake. If you don’t have a lid, saran wrap or tin foil will do the trick.

Place tempeh slices in container and put in fridge to marinate for a few hours or, preferably, overnight.

When you are ready to eat the tempeh, take it out of the fridge and fry it up in a pan like you would bacon. Depending on how thinly you sliced it, it should take roughly 1 minute per side to cook – perhaps even less.

IMG_2271

If you want to make the bacon and store it, conveniently adding it to salads or sandwiches without having to fry it, you can bake the marinated slices in a 300 degree oven for 12 minutes (or until browned), flip, and bake for 5-7 more.

Note: I kept my marinating tempeh in the fridge for four days (that’s all it took for me to gobble up an entire package) and it was still delicious. As long as there is an airtight seal you should be able to keep it awhile without baking it.