Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_2267
I mentioned in my last post that I’ve really been focusing on eating whole foods that treat my body right. For 8 weeks now I have been eating like a gluten-free, sugar-free, vegan in an attempt to focus on reaching new fitness related goals.

Normally, I am not gluten-free, sugar-free OR vegan. Let me tell you, ordinarily this body tolerates all sorts of garbage. MMMMM… delicious… wonderful…sugary… garbage…. droool!

Much of this transition has been really easy (seeing as how I was already 90% vegan and typically avoided processed foods), but I had an intense craving for pizza that wouldn’t go away. Good news though, because it resulted in the creation of a wonderful grain-free, gluten-free, high protein, vegan pizza dough recipe!

First things first. This recipe operates on a few assumptions:

1. You have access to an amazing sugar-free and inexpensive pizza sauce. Or, you are willing to make it from scratch.

This brand is SO good, and only $4.99 per jar.

This brand is SO good, and only $4.99 per jar.

2. You are willing to believe that fake cheese is really (kinda) good. Remember when soy cheese first came out and it didn’t melt, and tasted like cardboard that a dog had peed on? Well, fear not my friend. Fake cheese has come a (sorta) long way baby.

Soy free cheese that actually tastes ok!

Soy free cheese that actually tastes ok!

3. You like a thicker crust pizza. Honestly, something about thin-crust pizza irks me. I feel like people eat thin-crust when they want to maintain the facade of being svelte. But on Friday nights it’s usually just me and my partner of a bajillion years, some sweatpants, some beer, and the cats. Thick-crust pizza doesn’t judge.

Did I mention that this is the easiest pizza dough recipe in the world to make because you don’t have to roll out any dough? Yep, all you need is a bowl.

If only it could have been that easy for Oliver Twist.

GF Thick Crust Pizza Dough

2 Cups Almond Flour
1/4 Cup Ground Flax Seed
1/4 Cup Soy Flour (to make this soy free, just up the Flax Seed to 1/2 cup)
1/2 Cup Quinoa Flour (super easy to make your own)
1 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
1 Tsp Salt
1 Tsp Garlic Powder
1 Tsp Onion Powder
1 Tsp Italiano Seasoning

3 Large Eggs (to make this vegan sub 3 tbps chia seed 9 tbsp water mixture for the ‘eggs’ and add a 1/2 cup of water to recipe)
1/2 Cup unsweetened Almond Milk
1 Tbs Oil of choice
1/2 Tsp Vinegar

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Generously oil an 8 inch round pizza pan or a small square or rectangular cookie sheet (I always use a rectangular one and cut my pieces into squares).

In a large bowl whisk together the almond flour, flax seed, soy flour, quinoa flour, baking powder, salt, italiano seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder.

IMG_2259In a second bowl whisk together the eggs (or egg substitute and water), milk, and vinegar. Add the liquid mixture to the dry and stire until well incorporated.

Pour the wet batter onto your oiled pan and spread the mixture evenly using a spatula. If you find the dough is sticking, just oil the spatula and keep going.

Place the crust into the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

IMG_2262Remove from oven, place desired toppings on and then bake again for 15-25 minutes and then enjoy!

IMG_2265On the right is real mozza and pepperoni for my partner. On the left is daiya cheese and veggies.

The dough is a bit crumbly when it first comes out of the oven. I suggest you either, let it sit for 5 minutes before eating to firm up, or just eat your slice with a fork.