Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This year, I had my first thanksgiving as a vegetarian. Luckily, the feast was prepared by me for only my partner and myself – so there were no awkward moments and no complaints about the general lack of meat.

Even when I ate meat I was never the biggest fan of turkey – so it was not missed at all. But, to be honest, I was worried about the stuffing. I love stuffing. I love old school traditional stuffing. Nothing with nuts or raisins or sausage- just traditional celery-onions-spices-bread, crispy moist deliciousness. Of course, in the past I would use the hell out of the turkey drippings, and man alive did they make for some delicious stuffing.

So this year, being a non-meat eater and all, I decided to make the stuffing vegan. Not a drop of turkey juice to be found. And you know what? It turned out just fine. Obviously it wasn’t exactly the same, but it still passed the test.

Ingredients:

  • 10 cups, 1/2 inch bread cubes (I used half sourdough and half pumpernickel, but if you are making this vegan be sure to triple check the ingredients)
  • 2 Tbsp + 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp minced fresh garlic (2 – 3 cloves)
  • 1 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 cups finely chopped celery
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp dried rubbed sage leaf
  • 1 tsp dried thyme leaf
  • Optional: 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 – 3 cups vegetable stock OR 3 c. water + 2 veggie bouillon cubes (I used homemade stock to make it extra delicious)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees and oil a large shallow casserole dish (set aside).

Toast bread cubes in a large baking sheet in the oven until golden brown and set aside in a large bowl.

Turn oven down to 350 degrees F

Heat 2 Tbsp olive oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Sauté onions, garlic, and celery until soft.

Using a rubber spatula, transfer the veggie mixture to the bowl of bread chunks.

Add parsley, sage, thyme, optional salt, and pepper.

Optional: Drizzle 1 Tbsp olive oil into the mixture

Stir until until everything is well mixed. Add 2 cups vegetable stock, and stir until it is absorbed. Add more stock as needed so that the mixture is moist and clumping together, but not soggy.

Bake in a covered shallow casserole or baking dish for 25 minutes.

Optional: Uncover and bake another 15 minutes to form a crusty top (this is crucial, in my opinion – unless you like wet stuffing).

PS – sorry about the poor quality of photos. It was getting dark and the lighting in my dining room/living room is appalling. It tasted better than it looks though, I promise!

