Tags

, , , , , , ,

Between the amount of perogies and bananas in our freezer, we didn’t have room for much else. Every time I would open the freezer to get something, bananas would tumble to the floor. The cats would scatter – I would swear when a hard banana nearly severed a toe. It was horrible (I know, I know – First World Problems).

Obviously, it was time to make banana bread.

I have tried a lot of recipes over the years, but this one is definitely my favourite. It’s moist, yet dense – and it really makes the entire house smell delicious. I like my bread to taste like bananas, so that is why this recipe calls for, what may seem like, an absurdly large amount. But trust me, it’s worth it. Toes be damned!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (I used margarine)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • Splash of vanilla
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas (mine are always frozen)
  • chocolate chips (however much you want- optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.

don’t mind the tumeric stained bowl…

In a separate bowl, cream together butter, vanilla, and brown sugar.

Stir in beaten eggs and mashed bananas until well blended. The amount of bananas I suggest is really just a guideline. I have made this bread with more – and it was still great. So feel free to play around a bit with the mixture.

Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; add chocolate chips, and stir just to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.

Brush the top of the loaf with a mixture of 1tbsp water and 3 tbsp brown sugar for a sweet crunch on top. For the sugar adverse, this step is completely optional.

Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

This is the part where my partner kindly took over, so I could get some creative writing homework done. 95 mins later, and with me screaming, “I smell burning!” he ran to the oven and remembered to take it out.  Surprisingly, it was still very good. This recipe is indestructible!

I like to eat mine while it’s still warm (doesn’t everybody?).

