Tags

, , , , , ,

I have been feeling quite glum lately. It’s been hard for me to get out of bed in the mornings. I’ve been craving hibernation foods. I am always freezing cold. I haven’t had the motivation to go running.  And it’s a negative feedback loop because running makes me happy – but I don’t have the energy to do it, and when I don’t do it, I start to beat myself up and then I feel even more sullen.

Last week it rained every day. The sun didn’t peak out once from behind the rain splattered gotham-esque high rises viewed from the window of my living room, and, frankly, I don’t blame it. I wouldn’t want to be associated with this crud either. So, needless to say, I’ve been eating a lot of ice cream under the safety of my blanket, bundled up on the couch, watching re-runs on Netflix and playing video games.

it truly is the blackest night

Yesterday though, was a good day. After work I went to a new farmers’ market that opened up by our condo. Now, if fresh and local fruits and vegetables weren’t enough to get my motor running (and, sadly, they are), the fact that this particular farmers’ market was located next to a dog park was. For me, nothing turns a professor McGonagall frown upside down faster than some adorable, smiley dogs (but don’t tell my cats I said so). The sun was shining, the dogs were playing, the raspberries that I bought were delicious.

I came home and my partner and I went for a 4 mile run. I felt alive. There was a really cute little toddler running around the common grounds of my building, and I caught Dan making goofy faces at him. I remembered what it felt like to be out of this sad haze and I liked it. It was a good day (aside from the working part).

This morning, I decided to wear a poncho. It’s not my poncho, but I wish it was. It keeps me warm, and I feel all Mary Poppins in it. It’s important for me to remember that the small things make me happy. I’m also delighted that I don’t have to start fasting tonight, like a lot of people are doing. I am going to go home and eat loads of root vegetable curry, and smile while doing so – parsnips and all. This body was meant to eat.

Who can feel sad when they look like this?

Tonight I have my second creative writing class, which should be entertaining. There’s this crazy lady in it who proved to be very entertaining last class – so I’m excited to see where that goes.

Tomorrow, I will post another recipe. They really are piling up.

