Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh..my..god, Beckie. Look at those oats. Jessi only likes them because they look like total prostitutes. I mean, they are just…so…oaty.

So – I am a total ‘overnight oat’ convert. Honestly, I can’t believe it has taken me this long to hop on the bandwagon. And what the hell is up with Chia seeds? How did I not know about these amazing little parcels of awesomesauce? I blame everyone that I know for not telling me about them. It’s fun blaming people for things. While I’m at it, how come you let me bash my ass on the door handle last night while mopping the floors, Dan? It’s totally your fault I have a giant door-handle shaped bruise on my big ol’ round and juicy.

Anyway, Chia seeds. High in omega-3s (and omega-6s), and also full of fiber, antioxidants, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus and protein. Chia seeds are complete proteins in an easily digestible form, so they are great for vegetarians, especially for those of us who are athletic.

They are better than flax, in my opinion, because they store longer, and they can be eaten without grinding. Also, they are tasteless (I promise) and can be used in their gel form as a really delicious egg substitute in vegan recipes. Plus the Aztecs ate them, so there’s that.

To consume, simply sprinkle them dry into soups, salads, smoothies, or oatmeal. Chia seeds are hydrophilic (they love them some water), and will absorb 7-10 times their weight in liquid. This means that when you combine them with liquid and let them soak, creating a chia seed ‘gel’, the recipe options are near limitless.

From what I have read, it seems like most people suggest eating a tablespoon a day. And if you start eating overnight oats, this will be no problem to do.

Basic Overnight Oats                    

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup unsweetened almond milk (or milk of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup whole oats (not instant oats)
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (I use the no-fat, low cal version – and this can be omitted for a vegan breakfast)
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon Chia seeds
  • Brown sugar to taste (I just use a tinsy bit, because the oats are too tangy without it for me)

 Mix all these ingredients in an air tight container, and refrigerate overnight. In the morning what I like to do is cut up an apple into bite sized bits and microwave it for one minute. Then I pour half of the oat mixture over top and save the other half for the next day.

You can garnish with pecans, coconut, raisins, berries – anything you want really.

I find that I need a little bit of warmth to my oatmeal, so I like to warm up fruit and put it in.

Pumpkin pie oats are also great.

