Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today’s yum-yum is altered from a recipe I found on the (awesome) Iowa Girl Eats blog. Basically, I took out the meat that was called for and substituted it with tofu, baby bok choy, bean sprouts and a little brown rice.  I have only eaten at PF Chang’s once in my life (when I was in Vegas and when I was still a meat eater), I guess we don’t have such delights in Canada. This recipe is definitely great, but sadly, due to my near virginity when it comes to Chang’s, I’m not sure how well it would hold up to the original. I don’t remember seeing any tofu on the menu when I was there…

Anyway, what matters is that it is salty and crunchy and, of course, delicious. So give them a try!

Tofu Lettuce Wraps
Serves 3-4

Ingredients:
1 package firm tofu,sliced into 1 inch chunks
1/2 medium onion, minced
salt & pepper, a dash of each
2 large cloves garlic, minced
1 inch nob fresh ginger, peeled & minced
1 Tbsp sesame oil
2 1/2 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 Tbsp water
1 Tbsp natural peanut butter
1/2 Tbsp honey
1 Tbsp  + 1 tsp rice vinegar
2 tsp chili garlic sauce (or more if you like it hotter)
dash of fresh pepper
3 green onions, chopped
1 can sliced water chestnuts, drained & chopped
1-2 cups bean sprouts
2-3 cups baby boy choy, washed and with the bottoms cut off
1/4 cup peanuts, chopped
10-12 large outer lettuce leaves, rinsed and patted dry
1 cup rice

Directions:

1. Heat a large, non-stick skillet on high, and add an oil of your choice. Add tofu, and cook until tofu starts to get brown, flipping to cook both sides evenly. Add onion, salt and pepper – stir. Add in minced garlic and ginger, and continue cooking until tofu looks how you want it to look (I like mine crispy and brown – but you may like yours a bit wetter).

2. Meanwhile, in a microwave safe bowl, combine 1 Tbsp sesame oil, 2 1/2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1/2 Tbsp water, 1 Tbsp peanut butter, 1/2 Tbsp honey, 1 Tbsp  + 1 tsp rice vinegar, 2 tsp chili garlic sauce and dash of pepper. Microwave for 20 seconds, then stir until smooth. Add into the tofu skillet and stir to combine.

3. While your tofu is cooking, cook one cup of your favourite rice (I chose brown rice this time)

4. Add green onion, bean sprouts and water chestnuts into the tofu skillet then cook for 1-2 minutes until the onions are soft and the water chestnuts are heated through.

5. Add bok choy and cook for no longer than 4 minutes.

6. Fry the cooked rice (this step is optional, but I highly recommend it) and combine with tofu mixture

7. Sprinkle with chopped peanuts, and serve with cold lettuce leaves

These are really fun to make! Simply pile the tofu and rice mixture onto a lettuce leaf, roll,

and devour.

